Shake It Records

Here it is! (I found this image through a Google search, so I didn't take the picture).

Here it is! (I found this image through a Google search, so I didn’t take the picture).

Here’s the first review! Woohoo! I’m super excited about this one. Shake It Records is the first record store I visited as a music-obsessing teen. I found out about it by searching the Internet for a non-Internet based store where I could fill my musical void; most places I could go to either didn’t have whatever weird sub-genre I was obsessed with or were far too expensive – so expensive that even someone who hadn’t been to a real record store at that point could see right through the prices. Shake It Records also made me fall in love with vinyl; I was only listening to music through CDs/the Internet for the most part, but when I walked down those magical stairs to the basement, I fell in love. With that said, here we go!

STOCK: 5/5

Shake It carries every genre imaginable and more. They manage to not only keep up with the latest popular releases, but they also display new releases that might not be as well known, but that are most likely well worth listening to.

YES!

YES!

Their Alt/Punk section is particularly wonderful. Most of my personal collection most likely comes from that very section. It is always being restocked and filled with new items, and one can find anything from the genre’s beginnings to the current favorites.

YES AGAIN!

YES AGAIN!

Not only does Shake It have an excellent Alt/Punk section, they also have a beautiful Hip-Hop/Electronic section. A lot of stores fall flat in these genres; somehow Shake It has managed to avoid that and stock everyone. They show a clear understanding of each genre; and if they don’t know about a genre, it seems that they do their research because each section is filled with albums.

There’s a hip-hop artist named P.O.S. that I’m always looking for music from – usually to no avail – but I found his album We Don’t Even Live Here at Shake It. It’s still one of my favorite finds amongst those shelves.

STAFF: 5/5

This picture was also found through a Google search, so I didn't take it. Two of the many wonderful staff members at Shake It.

This picture was also found through a Google search, so I didn’t take it. Two of the many wonderful staff members at Shake It.

I have yet to have an even slightly bad experience with the staff at Shake It. They are always endlessly helpful in a customer’s search for a specific record, and they’re always way nice and willing to talk to everyone. They are also running around the store constantly, seemingly never stopping even to breathe. The staff are really the heart of Shake It; sure, their selection is to die for, but the staff keep me coming back (though I’d totally keep going even if the staff weren’t as incredible as they are; let’s be honest).

One time I had to decide between buying a Mountain Goats or a Pavement record on a particular visit, and a super helpful staff member helped me decide which to go with (I’ve since bought both, of course, hehe).

AREA: 5/5

Also not my picture! Thank you to the three people whose pictures I've used!

Also not my picture! Thank you to the three people whose pictures I’ve used!

Northside is an amazing district. They have a wonderful selection of stores/restaurants to visit, and more places are always opening up. If you don’t get your vinyl fill at Shake It, Black Plastic is right down the street. There’s a Taco Bell across the street for those who’ve spent too much money on records and forgot to leave some food money, and there’s Melt for those who want the most delicious food in the world. Or you could get both and be super super super happy (and really full)! The best part: most of the restaurants are vegetarian/vegan friendly, so it’s pretty much the ultimate district. Also, so many shows take place in Northside, so if you see a wall of flyers, make sure to take one and attend a show and have the best time!

OVERALL SCORE: 5/5 YEAH!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

